Be Aware of Statute of Limitations!!

The average person may know that if they are injured here in Massachusetts, they typically have 3 years from the date of that incident in which to commence a legal action; there are a few exceptions but, for the most part, after that 3 year time period, you are precluded from making a claim.

However, most people may not know that if a Massachusetts resident sustains injuries in other states, they may be required to comply with the other states' statute of limitations laws. These laws are not uniform across our country and change from state to state. For example, in Connecticut, most injury claims must be commenced within 2 years of the date of the incident. In Vermont, a wrongful death claim must be commenced within 2 years of the date on which the death was discovered and dramshop claims must likewise be commenced within 2 years of the date of the incident. In Maine, claims alleging assaults and batteries and actions against ski areas must be commenced within 2 years of the date of the incident. These are just a few ways in which each states' unique statute of limitations law may affect your legal rights if the incident occurs in those other states.

It is critical that you consult with an experienced tort attorney who can determine for you what the applicable statute of limitations is for your claim so that compliance is assured.